Ramakrishna Memorial Award

This award to be presented for the first time in 2016 will be made annually to commemorate Prof. R S Ramakrishna, former Professor of Chemistry at the University of Ceylon in Colombo was a pioneering leader in the development of research in Inorganic & Analytical Chemistry. He developed the first MSc. Program (Analytical Chemistry) in Sri Lanka. He served as President of the Institute of Chemistry, Ceylon in 1978/79 during which period our very successful and popular Graduateship Program in Chemistry was inaugurated.

The award will be made for an exceptional research contribution of an original nature in the field of Inorganic and/ or Analytical Chemistry and/or related areas such as Bio-inorganic Chemistry or Bio- analytical Chemistry.

The award comprises a Silver Medal and a Cash Award of Rs.10,000. The recipient of the award will be invited to deliver the “Ramakrishna Memorial Award Lecture” at the Institute’s Annual Session.

General Criteria for IChemC Awards 


Award Winners

2020    –     Dr.Sameera R Gunatilake