Chandrasena Memorial Award

This award is made annually to commemorate Professor J. P. C. Chandrasena who was the first Sri Lankan to hold the Chair of Chemistry at the University of Ceylon.  Prof Chandrasena excelled in the field of Organic Chemistry & Pharmacology.

The award is for an exceptional research contribution of an original nature in the field of Organic Chemistry and/or related areas such as Biochemistry, Pharmacognosy, Molecular Biology and Bioactivity studies.

The award comprises a Silver Medal and a cash award of Rs.10,000. The recipient of the award shall be invited to deliver the “Chandrasena Memorial Award Lecture” at the Institute’s Annual Sessions.

General Criteria for IChemC Awards 


Award Winners

1995 – Prof N E Gunawardena

2001 – Dr G M K B Gunaherath

2006 – Dr G A S Premakumara

2019 – Dr P B Ratnaweera